Halooooo!

Hope your all well, a curious post from me today, and also a hope of some suggestions from you aspiring interior designers out there.

I have been commisioned to style an event in London in December, it’s all very hush hush and a bit of a secret but the request from the client is… Vintage but no pastel colours and not too girly!

Now as I am sure you are all aware, I am a fan of the more delicate colour palette and the major trend in vintage and shabby chic design is for pretty pastels and muted tones. So what’s a girl to do?

Here is my idea that I have put forward to the client.

Vintage/ Victorian / Opium Den inspired by Dita Von Teese and her recent performance at the 2010 Erotica show at Olympia in London.

Now, not one to do things by halves, I have decided to do a 180 turn on the usual vintage colour pallette and am going for blood reds, emerald greens, gold and silver, black, bronze and brown.

I want to combine vintage pieces into a Victorian Opium Den design. Without being too gimicky.

I want to add some quirky winter fruit center pieces on a few 3 foot tables covered in burgandy linen.  Like those seen on the Most Curious Party site.

I want to create a dark, warm interior, lit dimly by scattered candles and elegant lamps. Like  Bar 228 at Le Meurice in Paris…

And the grown up Vintage glamour of Madam Jo Jo’s and the Rivoli Ballrooms

I have quite a collection of gold gilt frames, and am hiring several pieces of taxidermy along with other curios including religious icons, oriental rugs, battered vintage suitcases… all of which I will be using in the styling of the event.

I have been assured that the gin and Champagne will be flowing too, so all in all I am really looking forward to this event and of course will keep you updated and take plenty of pictures to show you!

All the best for now, Sadie xx