Hello Dears!

So sorry for the long absence, but as I stated in my last post, I really needed a blog break because I was swamped and feeling very tired. Turns out I was actually suffering from an extremely unpleasant virus that’s symptoms included, lethargy, vertigo, weight loss and migraines. My doctor said that it was also stress related. I literally went to bed at 6pm every night for 3 weeks due to the exhaustion! But hey ho! Feeling my old self again and back to it!

So.. What a great bank holiday weekend.

It all kicked off for me at the Love Retro and Vintage Fair in Chertsey, Surrey on Saturday, all in all it was a fun event and it was so nice to see some new faces, especially the Cup Cake Goddess who’s Lemon Meringue Cup cakes were a stroke of GENIUS!! And I have a new soul mate in the lovely Susan of Bespoken and Tit Tat.  Unfortunately she’s not on t’web so you will have to come see her at the next fair in October which I will tell you all about closer to the time.

However, Love From B, (I purchased a pair of too cute knitted doves/hair clippy thing from her, as pictured below) who makes darling little knitted accessories does have a web presence as does the equally lovely Nicky from Beauty Call who stole two of my most favourite vintage breakfast cup and saucer sets! But I don’t mind as I know she loves them…

If your interested in booking a stall at the next fair in October please email me and I will sort you right out! But hurry as there are only a few pitches left!

Sunday I spent a blissful day on the sofa with E.T and a good book.  I’m reading Eat, Pray, Love by Elisabeth Gilbert and loving every page. It really has been hyped to death and has just been turned into what will probably be a completely ghastly movie (Did you see what the sod’s did to the Time Travellers Wife? Blurgh!) but that said the book IS excellent.

And then… August Bank Holiday Monday. Which means one thing… Car Boot heaven!!

I started early and got myself over to Ascot Wood, but was more than a little disappointed and came away with a couple of old pots for the garden, a toy car for E.T and some plain pine shelves for his bedroom project that I’m in the middle of.
Next I fought the traffic through Berkshire to get to my car boot Mecca, Taplow Giant Car Boot where I was confronted by the most handsome man I have ever seen in real life shouting at me to park in the upper field.  He had on very dirty overalls and had that Sawyeresque roguish gorgeousness about him that actually made me blush as we made eye contact.. I didn’t find the nerve to talk to him so skulked off into the mass of eager treasure hunters.

I emerged victoriously with two pairs of 1940/50’s gloves, a 1950s cream leather handbag with bakelite buttons, a genuine ostrich skin 1950s handbag, a glass jelly mould, a 1930s cake stand, a darling pink and 22kt gold detailed bone china tea set, another 22 kt gold, bone china tea cup trio in pale mint green, a selection of vintage plates and an original 1950s glass Eiffel Tower liqueur bottle that I have been coveting off the Rachel Ashwell blog forever! Ching, Ching, Ching!!!

I have also found an advertisement for my desired Christmas gift this year. I can’t help but love them, they glow in the dark AND sway in the wind because they are on springs! SIMPLES!!! Lol!

And now my dear friends, I am typing this little post to you with a cup of Earl Grey and cheese on toast. Magic.

Love to you all,

Sadie x